Posted On: 05/25/17 4:00 PM

Used to be that 2019 was one class, at least, that the “other” clubs figured Tartan wouldn’t win. Once upon a time, Stars Nelson seemed to have a corner on the market, but defections took their toll—McKenna Hofschild, then Taylor McAulay, and more. Both went to the Fury, who quickly became a team that was very hard to beat. But Crossfire Theisen beat them nevertheless in last year’s final 43-34 to successfully defend their 2015 title.

Tartan was the #5 seed and finished #7 in 2015, and was the #5 seed again last year and came in at #4. As a result, they went into this year’s Prelim as the #4 seed. They lost to Fury Blue 45-38 there, yet moved up another slot to #3 going into this weekend’s AAU Tournament.

Tartan still has 5 players from a not-very-good team 2 years ago—Sara Scalia, Macy Guebert, Jadyn Hanson, Megan Baer and Shawna Mell. There were 3 changes last year, but none of them stuck. This year, the new additions are Anna Harvey, Frannie Hottinger, Makayla Johnson, Liza Karlen and Mykel Parham—in other words, a ton of size and another quick, aggressive point guard.

This week, Scalia led the way

Minnesota All Access Pass

Subscribe to Prep Girls Hoops Minnesota to get access to all premium articles and prospect rankings for as little as $2 per week with an annual subscription!