Posted On: 01/10/19 10:58 AM

Tracy Henderson of Patrick Henry High School in Minneapolis was one of the all-time greats. She went on to play at the University of Georgia and in the WNBA.

There have been an incredible number of great players who have played high school basketball in Minnesota, but Tracy Henderson of Patrick Henry High School in Minneapolis was one of the best. Her performance will now be recognized as she is one of five female players who will be inducted into the Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame in March along with coach Mike Dreier of New London-Spicer. The honorees were announced this week, including Aileen Just of Rapidan, Kelly and “Coco” Miller of Rochester Mayo and Kelly Skalicky of Albany.

Henderson played at Henry in the early ‘90s where she had career totals of 1,919 points, more than 1,100 rebounds and a state-record 577 blocks. She was an All-American at the University of Georgia where she played in two NCAA Final Fours. Henderson went on to play in the WNBA. The other Hall of Fame nominees are as follows:

Aileen Just of Rapidan, who graduated in 1930, may have been the best girls basketball player in Minnesota in the pre-Title IX era. She averaged more than “a point a minute” as a sophomore with 453 points in 416 minutes of play.  Just had single games in which she scored 60 and 50 points.

Kelly Skalicky of Albany was one of the all-time greats.

Kelly and Colleen “Coco” Miller made their mark at Rochester Mayo, where they graduated in 1997. The Miller Twins appeared in four state tournaments during their five varsity seasons, and won state titles in 1995 and 1997. Both scored over 2,100 points and shared the Miss Basketball award. They went on to have successful careers at Georgia as well as in the WNBA.

Mike Dreier of New London-Spicer, who still leads the NLS program, has been the career leader in wins among girls basketball coaches since 1995. He had more than 900 victories entering his 41st season this year. Drier has led New London-Spicer to a record 17 state tournament appearances highlighted by titles in 1997 and 2002.

“The Hall of Fame promotes both boys and girls basketball in Minnesota, and the values of healthy, sportsmanlike competition. We do that by remembering the great accomplishments over the years,” said spokesperson Marc Hugunin, the long-time Prep Girls Hoops contributor who retired in 2018. “Minnesota has a much richer basketball history and tradition than most people know, and we want to keep that alive.”

New London-Spicer’s Mike Dreier celebrated his 900th win with a group of former players. (Photo courtesy of West Central Tribune)

The Hall of Fame was established in 2018 by a group of coaches, fans, journalists, historians and aficionados to create a lasting tribute to high school legends of the sport. Inductees are chosen and honored for their statistical records, team success and positive values as role models for Minnesota’s youth, improving, promoting and serving high school basketball in Minnesota. The organization is managed by a Board of Directors that meets to review Hall of Fame candidates annually.

The inaugural class of inductees for girls basketball in 2018 included longtime Rochester Lourdes coach Myron Glass and coach Faith Johnson-Patterson, who had tremendous success at both Minneapolis North and DeLaSalle. The players inducted were Janet Karvonnen-Montgomery of New York Mills and Lindsay Whalen of Hutchinson. The legendary 1929-1939 teams from Grand Meadow, who won 94 games in a row, were also honored. 99-year-old Beulah Ankeny, a member of the team who graduated in 1936, accepted the award.

The induction will be held at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, March 26 at the Marriott City Center Hotel in Minneapolis. From there the group will adjourn to the Target Center where the inductees will be introduced on the floor at half-time of the Timberwolves game versus the L.A. Clippers. Information on tickets is available on the Hall’s website at “We’re thrilled to have the Timberwolves as a partner,” Hugunin said. “We have a permanent display in the skyway at the Target Center.”

Six boys basketball players and three coaches are also among those who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Former coach Bob Brink of Rocori will be honored along with current Hopkins coach Ken Novak, who also coached at Blaine. Ed Prohofsky of the former Minneapolis Marshall University High School will also be inducted. He went on to coach for the Timberwolves and Lynx. One of Prohofsky’s players is included, too – Ronnie Henderson who graduated in 1977. The other players are Bob Bruggers of Danube (1962), Norm Grow of Foley (1958), Hal Haskins from  Alexandria (1943), Bob Zender of Edina (1969) and Kris Humphries of Hopkins (2003).


The Hall of Fame also announced three new basketball events which will serve as fundraisers for the Hall to support its ongoing operation. There will be a boys AAU event in April, a summer high school event for girls and boys in July, and a winter high school event for girls and boys that will debut in January of 2020.

The Hall of Fame Super 64 will be July 29-30 at Anoka-Ramsey Community College and will feature 32 of the top girls programs in Minnesota. In January 2019 there will be some first-rate matchups at the Hall of Fame Classic, also at Anoka-Ramsey. The games will include St. Michael-Albertville vs Lakeville North, Mountain Iron-Buhl against Sauk Centre and Hopkins vs Stillwater.

“The new events are fund-raisers for the Hall of Fame, and they’re meant to support our core mission,” Hugunin said. “I think that over time they’re going to be great events because Minnesota basketball coaches have been very, very supportive of the idea of a Hall of Fame and they want to support us in ways that make sense for them. The response to the events has been very positive, and we’re looking forward to having many of Minnesota’s top programs, coaches and players.”

Top photo: The Miller Twins from Rochester Mayo will be among the inductees in March. (Photo courtesy of StarTribune)