Posted On: 04/10/19 9:02 PM

One last hurrah and the highest individual award available. That’s what is on the agenda this weekend as 41 of the top seniors gather in Northfield for the Minnesota Girls High School All-Star Series. Friday night the winner of the 2019 Miss Minnesota Basketball award will be presented by the Minnesota Girls Basketball Coaches Association. On Saturday, fans can take in not one but two All-Star games featuring many of the top seniors from across Minnesota. It promises to be a great event as always.

Games will be played Saturday at 1:00 p.m. and 2:30 p.m. at Carleton College. Tickets are good for both games and will be on sale at the door. The cost is $10 for adults, $5 for students and children 12 and under are free.

Have a daughter in grades K through 4? She is invited to participate in a free one-hour basketball clinic to be hosted by the All-Star players and Minnesota’s Positive Coaching Alliance at 11:30 a.m. The first 125 participants will receive a free T-shirt.


The finalists for Miss Basketball, listed in the order of their Prep Girls Hoops ranking, are:

#2 – Sara Scalia, 5’9 guard from Stillwater (Minnesota)

#4 – Frannie Hottinger, 6’1 forward from Cretin-Derham Hall (Lehigh)

#5 – Kacie Borowicz, 5’10 guard from Roseau (North Dakota)

#6 – McKenna Hofschild, 5’3 guard from Prior Lake (Seton Hall)

#13 – Dlayla Chakolis, 5’7 forward from Hopkins (Hampton)


Participants in the 2018 senior All-Star games played their final high school games in Northfield.


The All-Star games will feature 41 of the top seniors in the state, including 13 of the 25 girls who have made a commitment to play Division 1 college ball next season. Seven of the top 10 players in the Prep Girls Hoops Class of 2019 rankings are included in the event. Of course not all of the top players are here because the rosters represent all corners of the state and all four classes. Listed in alphabetical order by first name, these are the players who will take part on Saturday:

Abbey McDonald – Hibbing (St. Cloud State)

Abby Mackenthun – Norwood-Young America

Abi McGlynn – Stephen-Argyle

Adriana Torres – Pelican Rapids

Aiana Whitfield – Benilde-St. Margaret’s (Carleton)

Aja Wheeler – Robbinsdale Cooper

Allie Negen – Mountain Iron-Buhl (NIACC)

Alyssa Peterson – Menahga (UM-Crookston)

Caitlin Rorman – Blue Earth (Gustavus)

Cierra Ahlf – Menahga

Delany Runyon – Hill-Murray

Frannie Hottinger – Cretin-Derham Hall (Lehigh)

Hannah DeMars – Grand Rapids (Jamestown)

Hannah Purcell – Annandale (DePaul)

Jadyn Hanson – St. Michael-Albertville (Concordia-St. Paul)

Jennifer Schaible – Mound Westonka (St. Thomas)

Joey Batt – New Ulm (MSU-Mankato)

Jordyn Glynn – Grand Meadow (St. Thomas)

Kacie Borowicz – Roseau (North Dakota)

Kallie Theisen – Wayzata (South Dakota State)

Kat Brown-Erdal – Jordan (Bethel)

Kia Tower – Bigfork (Jamestown)

Lariah Washington – St. Cloud Apollo (Eastern Illinois)

Dlayla Chakolis – Hopkins (Hampton)

Lexie Lodermeier – Goodhue

Lindsay Reps – Red Wing

Macy Guebert – Eastview (South Dakota)

Macy Nilsen – Edina (Jamestown)

Madison Gehloff – Waseca

Mariah McKeever – Ada-Borup (MSU-Moorhead)

McKenna Hofschild – Prior Lake (Seton Hall)

Megan Voit – St. Cloud Cathedral (Mary)

Mimi Schrader – Wayzata (Navy)

Olivia Lane – Pequot Lakes (North Dakota)

Rachel Kelly – Northfield

Sara Scalia – Stillwater (Minnesota)

Shawna Mell – Rush City (Concordia-St. Paul)

Shyanne Loiland – Crosby-Ironton (Weber State)

Sidney Fick – Hills-Beaver Creek (Dakota State)

Taytum Rhoades – Minnehaha Academy (UM-Duluth)

Tori Nelson – Henry Sibley (South Dakota State)

Top photo: Megan Walstad of Eastview/Milwaukee (center) was crowned Miss Minnesota Basketball in 2018. The other finalists (left to right) were Heaven Hamling (Grand Rapids/Stephen F. Austin), Sydney Lodermeier (Goodhue/Winona State), Maesyn Thiesen (Sauk Centre/UM-Duluth) and Sam Haiby (Moorhead/Nebraska). (Photos courtesy of MGBCA)