Posted On: 09/6/19 8:25 AM

The Akron City Series is an athletic conference spanning the entire city of Akron. The conference includes the 6 high schools in the Akron Public Schools system. The high schools comprising the league include Buchtel, East, Ellet, Firestone, Kenmore-Garfield (previously Kenmore and Garfield were 2 separate schools until 2017) and North. Former members included Central-Hower (until 2006 – previously Central and Hower were 2 separate schools until 1970), South (until 1980) and West (until 1953).


5 Players to Watch:

(schools are as of last year – unless PGH is 100% positive that a player has enrolled elsewhere)

I’anna Lopp – Kenmore-Garfield

Javaan Rogers – Buchtel

Kanai Chance – Buchtel

Jayda Wallace – Firestone

Paris Snell – North


4 Thoughts:

Most years, there is a lot of player movement from one school in the Akron City Series to another. Also, teams in the City Series will see departures and new enrollees from the number of private schools in the area – namely Akron Hoban and Akron St. Vincent St. Mary’s. This makes the early stages of the season important from an evaluation standpoint – as a number of these schools are still “settling in” with their current rosters.


Ohio All Access Pass

Subscribe to Prep Girls Hoops Ohio to get access to all premium articles and prospect rankings for as little as $2 per week!